top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Rose

How to Stay Organized While Back Packing

Updated: Apr 15, 2018



With so many hotels, hostels and unexpected surprises along the way- you will quickly learn that keeping track of your items is vital.

That’s why, I’ve come up with some of my favourite tips to help you keep organized while backpacking!


BEFORE YOU GO

1. Make a Packing Check-List: Nothing is worse than getting to your destination only to find out that you forgot your favourite shirt or sunglasses! Make a list before you pack so all you have to do is grab the item and go.

2. Make an Itinerary: This doesn’t need to be something strict or detailed. Just have a vague idea of what areas you’ll be heading in to give you an idea of what you’ll need.

3. Save Copies- Save (hard copies and digital) of all your important documents. Personally, I saved copies to my email and an external hard drive. As well, I held onto laminated hard copies in my sack.

4. Bring a Travel Journal- You never know when you’ll need to write something down. Plus, it’s great to have a pen and paper on hand so locals can write directions for you.

5. Send Someone Your Itinerary & Documents- That way, if something were to happen a trusted friend of family member will know who to contact and where you are.

WHILE AWAY


1. Use Packing Cubes: These are an absolute MUST. You’ll be able to compartmentalize everything you intend to bring. Need a shirt? Simply head into the ‘shirt’ cube. It’ll save you tonnes of time and energy, plus make heading through security a breeze.

2. Labels Are Your Friend: When I was away I printed off and stuck labels onto all of my cubes. This made for mindless and quick re-packing sessions.

3. Save As You Go: You never know when you’ll need proof of onward travel. Always keep proof of your travel plans and any upcoming boat/plane/train tickets you’ll be using.

4. Document Your Expenses- This really saved me an immense amount of trouble while I was away! Knowing how much I was spending let me know how much of my budget I had left (and what I could afford). To do this, I kept a simple spreadsheet where I would input the amount of money I used daily.

Want more tips for traveling on a budget? Click here

2 views0 comments
bottom of page